West Virginia HVAC Contractor License

This exam is required to be passed to obtain your State license. We stock all reference books in our online store. Shipping is always fast and affordable.

West Virginia HVAC Contractor License
Steps to Success

1. Register and pass your State Exams.
2. Submit affidavit form, licensing fee, and application to the State.

Features and Benefits:
Rapid Shipping
Sales & Support
Best Pricing
Hassle-Free Returns

About This License

“Heating, ventilating and cooling contractor” means a person who engages in the business of contracting to install, erect, repair, service or alter heating, ventilating and air conditioning equipment or systems to heat, cool or ventilate residential and commercial structures.

Requirements to Obtaining your License

An HVAC Contractor's License is required in West Virginia when the project exceeds $1,000.

  • Anyone seeking to become a contractor in West Virginia is required to sit for two exams, business and law and the trade.
  • Proof of workers compensation, tax registration, and employment security coverage is required.
  • Licenses are good for one year.

Exam Review, Training, Education

As of this time, we do not offer any review for this exam.

Books and References for the Exam

The following references are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with a permanent index tab) and highlighted. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.

  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • HVAC Basics for Contractors
  • Residential Comfort Systems Installation Standards Manual, 7th Edition

Exam Details

  • To schedule your exam, contact ProV at 1-866-720-7768.
  • 84 questions and a 3 hour time limit
  • 70% is required to pass the exam
  • The exam fee is $42.
  • Topics on the exam include general regulations, load calculations, code requirements, controls, fuel systems, ducting, insulating, piping, and safety.

Continuing Education

There are no requirements for continuing education as of this time.

Applying to Get Your License

  • An application for licensure can be obtained from the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board by calling 1-877-558-5134.
  • The licensing and application fee is $90.

Reciprocity Agreement

Reciprocity is considered on a case by case basis.