Requirements to Obtaining your License
New CCB licensees are required to complete 16 hours of training on law and business practices, and pass a state test.
- The person that takes the training and passes the test is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) for the license. The RMI must be an owner in the business or a designated employee. Oregon law requires a license must always have a RMI.
- Our 16 Hour Education is now available. Click here for more information.
- Must have Workers Comp
- A valid Oregon Business I.D. # and Federal EIN #
Bonds and Insurance - Effective July 1st, 2008, all new applicants will be required to provide
Commercial General Contractor Level 1 - $75,000 BOND; $2,000,000 INSURANCE aggregate
Commercial General Contractor Level 2 - $20,000 BOND; $1,000,000 INSURANCE aggregate
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1 - $50,000 BOND; $1,000,000 INSURANCE aggregate
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2 - $20,000 BOND; $500,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Commercial Developer - $20,000 BOND; $500,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Residential General Contractor - $20,000 BOND; $500,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Residential Specialty Contractor - $15,000 BOND; $300,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Residential Limited Contractor - $10,000 BOND; $100,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Residential Developer - $20,000 BOND; $500,000 INSURANCE per occurrence
Work that can be Done Under this License
Commercial Contractor - May perform work on small commercial structures and large commercial structures, unlimited category where there is no restrictions on trade or type of structure. General contractors may also do specialty contractor work. New homebuilders, remodelers, and contractors who work on small nonresidential structures belong to this category.
Residential Contractor - May perform work on residential structures and small commercial structures.
Dual Endorsement - Contractor may elect to be endorsed as both a residential contractor and a commercial contractor.
Specialty Contractor - All structures or Residential Trade Specialty only. Contractors here can perform up to (2) trades or crafts (including those that are sub'd out) per job, per year. The trades can change from job to job. This category includes tree service and manufactured dwelling contractors.
Applying to get your License
Initial application $325 and renewal is every two years
Construction Contractors Board
201 High Street SE, Suite 600
Post Office Box 14140
Salem, OR 97309-5052
If you are getting your license by mail, please allow up to 10 days for processing. If you are getting your license in person, please arrive at the board office before 4pm for same day processing.
Reciprocity with other states is not available as of this time.
Continuing Education is required for commercial and residential contractors.
- 80 questions, 3 hours to complete.
- A 70% is required to pass
- Open Book
- Topics include: Contract Law, Lien Laws, Payroll & taxes, OSHA, Project Management, Building Codes & CCB.
- After you complete your 16 hour education, you can call PSI to schedule test: 1-800-733-9267
- The exam fee is $60
Books and References for the Exam
These books are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.
Only the following materials are permitted for OPEN-BOOK examinations:
- Oregon NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management
Please note that this reference is included with our 16 Hour Education Program.