A contractor license is required in Mississippi (MS) at the state level for the following:
Commercial projects that exceed over $50,000
Public works projects that are over $50,000 in value.
Commercial Fire Sprinlers $5,000 for public and $10,000 for private jobs
Residential building that exceeds $50,000
Residential remodeling that exceeds $10,000.
To become a licensed contractor, candidates are required to pass two examinations: business and law and their trade. Applications can be obtained from the Mississippi State Board of Contractors by calling 1-800-880-6161. Examinations can be scheduled through PSI by calling 1-800-733-9267. Please select the license/examination that you are interested in.
Continuing education is only required if you are a residential contractor licensed AFTER July 15, 2015. If you received your license before this date, you are not required to have continuing education (as of this time).