Michigan Residential Builder License, Education, and Exams

Pursuing a career in the construction field? Study at home for your Michigan Residential Builder License and Exam with our fully online, easy to take, and self-paced course.

Michigan Residential Builder
Steps to Success

1. Take the online course at your convenience.
2. At the end of the course, print your certificate of completion.

Exam Review Option Includes
Take at Your Convenience
Start and Stop as Needed
Fully Narrated
Instant Certificate Upon Completion
Automatic Notification to the State
Access to an Instructor
Finish in Less Than 8 Hours
iOS/Android Tablet and Smartphone Compatible
1 Year of Access

About This License

This license is for persons or firms who engage in the construction of a residential structure or combination residential and commercial structure, or who undertake the repair, alteration, addition, subtraction or improvement of a residential structure or combination residential and commercial structure for compensation other than wages for personal labor.

The Residential Builder license does not allow persons or firms to engage in plumbing, electrical, or mechanical (heating, ventilation, air conditioning) work.


Our training is written by Subject Matter Experts and built by Instructional Designers.

No Pass, No Pay

If you are not able to pass your exam on the SECOND attempt, we will refund your course fee. Conditions do apply.

Flexible & Self Paced

Simply login and out as needed. We track your progress.

Mobile Compatible

Our training is built on HTML5 - so you can take it with on your tablet or smartphone.

Lowest Price

We will beat ANY price by 10% for a similar program.

Requirements to Obtaining your License

  • A State approved 60 Hour Pre-Licensing course is required to be completed prior for sitting for the State Exams.
  • Anyone seeking to become a contractor in Michigan is required to sit for two exams, business and law and the trade.
  • A person who contracts with another to do residential, or combination residential and commercial, construction or remodeling on a project whose total value is $600 or more is required to be licensed as either a residential builder
  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Must be financially stable

Exam Review, Training, Education

We do not offer exam review for this license as of this time.

Books and References for the Exam

The following references are NOT permitted to be taken into the examination. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.

  • Stille-Derossett-Hale Single State Construction Code Act of 1972 as amended,
  • Michigan Residential Code, 2009
  • Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act 154 of 1974 as amended, and Administrative Rules for All Industries, All MIOSHA standards may be printed from the MIOSHA web site:
  • Pipe and Excavation Contracting, 2011
  • Carpentry Building Construction
  • Guide to Good Practice for Handling, Installing, Restraining, and Bracing of Metal Plate Connected Wood Trusses
  • The Contractor's Guide to Quality Concrete Construction
  • Modern Masonry
  • Roofing Construction and Estimating
  • Walkers Insulation Techniques and Estimating Handbook
  • Builder's Guide to Accounting

Exam Details

  • 110 questions and a time limit of 180 minutes.
  • The business and law exam has 50 multiple choice questions and lasts 75 minutes.
  • Exam requires a 72% to pass.
  • Closed Book
  • Topics on the Builder examination includes: layout, plans and specifications and estimating, excavation/sitework, footings and foundation walls, concrete, carpentry, masonry, roofing insulation, ventilation, windows/doors/skylights, siding installation, interior/exterior finishing, specialties, safety and employee protection including MiOSHA
  • Business and Law topics include: Regulator and statutory requirements, Business organization, Bidding and estimating, Contracts, Project management and supervision, Accounting and finance, Personnel, Insurance, Bonds and liens, and Payroll taxes
  • The fee for the exam is $56 and pre-approval is required.
  • To schedule your exams, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267

Continuing Education

21 hours of continuing education are required for each renewal.

Applying to Get Your License

  • The application process starts with an applicant contacting PSI Services, LLC (PSI). may be reached at:

    PSI Services, LLC
    3210 E. Tropicana
    Las Vegas NV 89121
    telephone: (800) 733-9267
    fax: (702) 932-2666
    TTY (800) 735-2929

    An applicant successfully completing all required sections of the examination will receive a report of their passing scores printed on the State of Michigan license application form. The license application must be filed with the State Board office within one year from the date a passing score is received on an application. If the examination is in separate parts, the examination shall be valid for one (1) year from the date the first portion of the examination is passed.

Reciprocity Agreement

There are no reciprocal agreements for this license as of this time.

  More Details