Louisiana Residential Contractor

This exam is required to be passed to obtain your State license. We stock all reference books in our online store. Shipping is always fast and affordable.

Louisiana Residential Contractor
Steps to Success

1. Purchase Books and References.
2. Schedule and pass your State Exams.
3. Submit your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance to the State.

Features and Benefits:
Rapid Shipping
Sales & Support
Best Pricing
Hassle-Free Returns



About This License

A Residential Contractor constructs a fixed building or structure for sale for use by another as a residence when the cost of the undertaking exceeds $50,000. This license allows new construction, remodeling and repair of residential structures no more than three stories in height.

only time that the construction of a duplex, tri-plex, or four-plex is covered is when it is a single contract for one unit. To build multiple units, apartment buildings, or subdivisions you need to have a Building Contractor License. Individuals who build no more than one residence for their own use per year do not need a license.

Requirements to Obtaining your License

  • Please note that the Business and Law examination is required for licensure in the State of Louisiana.
  • All contractors must have $10,000 in assets.

Exam Review, Training, Education

As of this time, we do not offer training for this license. Please continue to check back with us as we are always adding new programs.

Books and References for the Exam

Both a calculator and these references will be provided for you at the test site. You will not be allowed to use your own. These books are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.

The following reference is NOT allowed in the testing center:

  • International Residential Code
  • OSHA
  • Building Your High-Performance Home
  • Carpentry and Building Construction
  • Construction Industry Digest

Exam Details

  • 80 Questions – Four-hour time limit
  • Closed Book
  • Exam fee of $100
  • Topics include: Rough Carpentry, Interior and Exterior Finish, Concrete and Rebar, Associated Trades, Excavation and Site Work, Roofing, Masonry, Plans and Specifications

Continuing Education

4 Hours of CEU are required per renewal. We offer this online. Click here to learn more.

Applying to Get Your License

$100 license fee. Please call the board to request an application.

State Licensing Board For Contractors
P.O. Box 14419 · Baton Rouge, LA 70898
Phone: (225) 765-2301 · Fax: (225) 765-2431

Reciprocity Agreement

There are formal written reciprocal agreements with the States of Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Texas, Utah as well as the North Carolina Electrical Examiners' Board. The Business and Law examination cannot be waived for out-of-state contractors. However, reciprocity is not automatic, applications will be considered on an individual basis.