Requirements to Obtaining your License
A contractor's license is required in Virginia when the project exceeds $1,000.
Work that can be Done Under this License
There are three types of Virginia contractor’s licenses: Class A, Class B, and Class C. The licenses are generally based on the monetary limits of projects that your business will be bidding on.
Virginia Class A contractors are unrestricted in the dollar amount of contracts they may complete.
Virginia Class B contractors can perform work on or manage projects up to $120,000 per project or $750,000 yearly.
Virginia Class C contractors can perform work on or manage projects that are greater in value than $1,000 (but not more than $10,000) but not more than $150,000 yearly.
*All Classifications - If you perform any work that involves framing, the Building Technical Exam must also be passed.
Applying to get your License
Applications for licensure can be obtained from the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation State Board for Contractors by calling 1-804-367-8511. Application fees are as follows:
As of this time, there is no reciprocal licensing.
All Class A, B, and C Contractor applicants are required to complete an 8 Hour Pre-Licensing Course. We offer this course online. To enroll, click the link at the bottom of this page or call 800-952-0910.
Books and References for the Exam
The following references are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with a permanent index tab) and highlighted. “Virginia Contractor's Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management” is available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore. The remainder references are available to print online free of charge.
Exam Review, Training, Education
We offer review for the Virginia Contractor Class A and B license through online practice tests. Our practice tests include over 350 questions and are designed to be the best and most efficient way to prepare you for your business and law examination. Each time you take the practice test, the questions our randomly generated from our database so you never see the same test twice. For more information on our online class, contact our office at 1-800-952-0910 or click here to enroll.
The mandated 8 Hour Pre-Licensing Course is also available online. The fee for the course is $89. The course is completely self-paced. You can take it an hour today, 10 minutes next week, or all in one session. We track your progress for you. After you complete the course, we will inform the state.
Online Practice: $79
8 Hour Required Education: $89
Fast, easy, and affordable. Complete your required 8 Hour Pre-Licensing course today. You can study at your pace and it's available 24/7.
Approval Info:@ Home PrepProvider #: 2730000241Course #: 2731001738
Pricing Guarantee:If you find a competitor that offers a similar review at a lower price, we will beat their price by 10%.
Features and Benefits: