A contractors license is required in Tennessee (TN) prior to bidding any project that exceeds $25,000. Subcontractors who perform work in electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and HVAC projects exceeding $25,000 are also required to be licensed. To become a licensed contractor, candidates are required to pass two examinations: business and law and their trade. Applications can be obtained from the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors by calling 1-800-544-7693. Examinations can be scheduled through PSI by calling (800) 733-9267.
Please select the license/examination that you are interested in.