Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Youtube Google Plus 1

Florida Plumbing Contractor License

Licensing Info and Services

License Requirements

Requirements to Obtaining your License.

  • A Plumbing Contractors license is required in Florida for any job that involves the trade. Anyone seeking to become a plumbing contractor in Florida is required to sit for two exams, business and finance and the trade.
  • Applicants must document four years of experience. Applicants are also required to provide a credit report and financial statement that is no more than 12 months old. A net worth of $2,500 - $20,000 (depending on classification) is required.
  • The minimum general liability insurance that is required for licensure is $100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage.

Work Under this License

Work that can be Done Under this License

  • A "plumbing contractor" means a contractor whose contracting business consists of the execution of contracts requiring the experience, financial means, knowledge, and skill to install, maintain, repair, alter, extend, or, when not prohibited by law, design plumbing.

Applications for a License

Applying to get your License

Applications can be obtained from the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board by calling 1-850-487-1395. The application fee when applying for initial licensure:

For Individual Only

  • From May 1st of an EVEN YEAR through August 31st of an ODD YEAR is $249.
  • From September 1st of an ODD YEAR through April 30th of an EVEN YEAR is $309.

Qualifying a Business

  • From May 1st of an EVEN YEAR through August 31st of an ODD YEAR is $308.
  • From September 1st of an ODD YEAR through April 31st of an EVEN YEAR is $208.

Reciprocity

Reciprocity Agreements

Florida has no reciprocity agreements; however, does endorse certain examinations from California, Georgia, and North Carolina for electrical contractors in select categories. The endorsements from Georgia include alarm and specialty categories.
Continuing Education

Continuing Education

Each contractor is required to take 14 hours of continuing education during each 2 years prior to the renewal period.

Examination

Exam Details

  • The examination is divided into two 4 1/2 hour sections with one section in the a.m. and the other in the p.m.
  • A 70% is required to pass.
  • The fee for the exam is $135.
  • You will be scheduled for the examination date and site that you selected on your application.

References

Books and References for the Exam

The following references are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with a permanent index tab) and highlighted. It is available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.

Exam Review and Education

Exam Review, Training, Education

As of this time we do not offer any classes for this content. Please check back in the future for possible material. However, we do stock all of the recommended references in our online bookstore.

Buy Now, Reference Books

Pricing Guarantee

If you find a competitor that offers a similar review at a lower price, we will beat their price by 10%.

Permanent Tabs

To help you on your exam, you are allowed to place permanent tabs on your text books.  We offer:

  • Pre-Printed Tabs
  • Blank Tabs

Reference Books

Our online store offers hundreds of books at the best pricing possible.

To find books for your exam, click here and then click "State Exam".

Applications

Application Processing Assistance

@ Home Prep can assist you by saving you time and money. With our years of experience, we can quickly and accurately submit your application to your state.

Learn More